Media Tabs Tennessee As 2008 SEC Women's Basketball Champion

Tennessee was predicted to win its 15th Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members. Each SEC school selected two media members that cover their team and six additional writers from across the nation were selected by the conference office to form the 30-member voting panel.

The Lady Vols, 34-3 in 2006-07, are coming off their seventh NCAA title and a perfect 14-0 SEC record. They earned 28 first-place votes, topping LSU which earned two votes as SEC Champion. Tennessee returns four starters from last year's championship team, including Nicky Anosike, Shannon Bobbitt, Alexis Hornbuckle and Candace Parker.

Tennessee tops the order of finish with 358 points, with LSU (252), Georgia (234), Vanderbilt (189), Auburn (176) and Kentucky (145) rounding out the top half of the league.

Mississippi State comes in at seven with 135 votes. Ole Miss (107), Arkansas (95), Florida (84), South Carolina (74) and Alabama (30) round out the bottom half of the conference.

Tennessee junior Candace Parker was the overwhelming choice of the media for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with 28 votes, followed by Georgia's Tasha Humphrey and LSU's Sylvia Fowles with one vote each. Joining Parker, Humphrey and Fowles on the All-SEC First Team were Auburn's DeWanna Bonner and Tennessee's Alexis Hornbuckle. Second team consists of Arkansas senior Lauren Ervin, Florida junior Sha Brooks, Georgia sophomore Ashley Houts, LSU senior Erica White and Vanderbilt junior Christina Wirth.

Florida's Marshae Dotson, Kentucky's Samantha Mahoney, LSU's Quianna Chaney, Mississippi State's Marneshia Richard, and Tennessee's Shannon Bobbitt also received votes.

Points were compiled on a 12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for one team as an overall conference champion and a five-player All-SEC Team.

The 2007-08 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Days, October 24-25 at the Birmingham Marriott in Alabama. The 2007-08 season begins November 6, with conference play set to begin January 10. The 2008 SEC Tournament will be held March 6-9 at the Sommet Center in Nashville, Tenn.


DeWanna Bonner, Auburn
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee
Candace Parker, Tennessee


Lauren Ervin, Arkansas
Sha Brooks, Florida
Ashley Houts, Georgia
Erica White, LSU
Christina Wirth, Vanderbilt

Story Courtesy: UT Lady Vols Sports Information

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus