Steve Beshear Wins Governor's Seat in Kentucky

Kentucky (WVLT) - Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher does not win re-election, losing the seat to Democrat Steve Beshear.

Beshear pulled off a political comeback 20 years after he last held office. Here's what both men had to say after the election.

"My friends, tonight we celebrate and believe you me, it's celebration time, and tomorrow, tomorrow begins the hard task of governing and tomorrow begins the time when I call on every person in this state to come together with us, join hands with us because together folks we can make Kentucky a much better place to call home," Beshear said.

"My days in office did not end as I would like. I learned many things that will serve Glenna and me well in whatever we choose to do next, what that will be, we haven't thought about it, frankly," Fletcher said.

In other races, Republican and former Kentucky Wildcat basketball player, Richie Farmer defeats David L. Williams for the Agricultural Commissioner seat.

The State Auditor seat goes to Democrat Crit Luallen over Linda Greenwell.

The Treasurer's seat goes to Democrat Todd Hollenbach over Melinda Wheeler.

And the Attorney General's seat goes to Democrat Jack Conway over Stan Lee.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus