Eight additional Tennessee counties approved for federal disaster aid

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Eight additional Tennessee counties have been approved for federal disaster aid in the wake of last week's deadly storms.

Gov. Phil Bredesen announced on Tuesday that residents and businesses in Benton, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Montgomery, Perry, Trousdale and Williamson counties will be eligible for aid.

They join Hardin, Macon, Madison, Shelby and Sumner counties, which were approved for aid last week.

President Bush toured some of the hardest hit areas as did Homeland Security director Michael Chertoff.

Storms and tornadoes killed 31 people in Tennessee and destroyed or severely damaged more than 800 homes at last count. The Tennessee Emergency Management Agency has not yet released a dollar estimate of the damage.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to webmaster@wvlt-tv.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 15582097 - local8now.com/a?a=15582097
Gray Television, Inc.