13 Tenn. counties would violate new EPA smog limit


KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- The air in 13 Tennessee counties, including every major metropolitan area, is too dirty to meet the Environmental Protection Agency's new limits on smog.

"Right now all of the ozone monitors that we have in Tennessee currently do not meet the new standard. Every one of them," state Department of Environment and Conservation spokeswoman Tisha Calabrese-Benton said Thursday.

The Tennessee counties are: Anderson, Blount, Davidson, Hamilton, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Meigs, Sevier, Shelby, Sullivan, Sumner, Wilson. Those are the homes and surrounding counties of Memphis, Nashville, Knoxville, Chattanooga, Johnson City, Bristol, Newport and Morristown.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to webmaster@wvlt-tv.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 16643856 - local8now.com/a?a=16643856
Gray Television, Inc.