GOP sweeps countywide Knox races, Dems win in 1st, 2nd, 4th commission districts

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (WVLT) -- Several politicians frequently associated with the "Black Wednesday" Knox County government appointments won their respective races in Knox County Thursday.

Twice-appointed Knox County Sheriff Jimmy "J.J." Jones beat former Knoxville mayor and Democratic rival Randy Tyree in a frequently-heated race.

Republican Phil Ballard, who was one of the commissioners making appointments on Black Wednesday, beat Democrat Andrew Graybeal and Independent Robert Bedwell to win the Knox County Property Assessor's race.

Twice-appointed Knox County Trustee Fred Sisk beat out Democrat and Knox County School Board member Robert Bratton for that post.

Twice-appointed Knox County Register of Deed Sherry Witt beat out Democratic rival Scott Emge for that post.

For a complete list of election day winners in Knox County, CLICK HERE.

To view results from races outside of Knox County, CLICK HERE.

For complete pre-results election day video coverage, CLICK HERE.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus