State Republicans seize control of Tennessee Senate

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Republicans have taken control of the Tennessee state Senate.

Unofficial results Tuesday night show the Republicans picking up seats from Democrats in Districts 12 in East Tennessee and District 26 in West Tennessee.

The election began with Republicans and Democrats each holding 16 seats. The 33rd belonged to an independent up for re-election this year. Both parties were hoping to gain at least one seat to claim a majority.

With all precincts reporting in District 12, Republican Ken Yager defeated Morgan County Executive Becky Ruppe (RUH'-pee). In District 26, Republican state Rep. Dolores Gresham defeated Democrat Randy Camp.

In District 4 in East Tennessee, Republican attorney Mike Faulk was leading independent incumbent Mike Williams by more than 200 votes, but Williams had not conceded.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 33873469 -
Gray Television, Inc.