Tennessee Republicans seize control of Senate, House

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Tennessee Democrats have conceded that they have lost their majority in the state House.

Unofficial returns show the GOP picking up four seats in Tuesday's election. Democrats had held a 53-46 majority.

Democratic House spokesman Addison Pate said, "We believe that we will be down one seat, a 50-49 split."

Republicans won three open seats previously held by Democrats in District 40, District 71 and District 48.

In District 2, Republican Tony Shipley beat incumbent Democrat Nathan Vaughn.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- All eight incumbents and one new Republican have been elected as Tennessee's delegation to the U.S. House of Representatives.

Johnson City physician Phil Roe will represent the 1st Congressional District in the upper northeast corner of the state. Roe defeated incumbent Rep. David Davis by fewer than 500 votes in the Republican primary in August.

The makeup of the delegation remains five Democrats and four Republicans.

The returning members are Democratic Reps. Steve Cohen, Jim Cooper, Lincoln Davis, Bart Gordon and John Tanner. The returning Republicans are Reps. Marsha Blackburn, Jimmy Duncan and Zach Wamp.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to webmaster@wvlt-tv.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 33873599 - local8now.com/a?a=33873599
Gray Television, Inc.