Bredesen Names 4 New Trustees To UT Board

Nashville (AP) -- Governor Bredesen has named four businessmen, including a former State Democratic Party Chairman, to fill vacancies on the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees.

They are Charles Anderson Junior of Knoxville, Douglas Horne of Knoxville, George Cates of Memphis and Robert Talbott of Knoxville.

Horne was state Democratic Chairman from 1999 to 2000.

The four replace William Stokely, Jim Haslam, Johnnie Amonette and Susan Richardson-Williams.

The board governs the University of Tennessee System, which consists of the flagship campus in Knoxville, campuses in Chattanooga and Martin, the Health Science Center in Memphis and the Space Institute in Tullahoma.

(Copyright 2007 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8299237 -
Gray Television, Inc.