Food City & Bristol Motor Speedway make tickets available to area fans

(BMS) -- Today, Food City and Bristol Motor Speedway officials made an unprecedented announcement. The two companies unveiled a new joint venture that will make Food City 500 tickets available to area fans for the first time in the event’s history. The program kicks off the new year and the 2009 NASCAR racing season in style, with a caravan that hits nearly one-third of Food City’s retail supermarkets in a little more than a month.

The Food City 500 Fan Appreciation Caravan Tour makes its first stop January 7 at the new Piney Flats location, followed by 28 additional destinations before the second week of February, on a schedule that stretches from eastern Kentucky to the coalfields of Virginia to middle Tennessee.

Along the way, fans will have a chance to register for Food City and Bristol Motor Speedway prizes, as well as the rare opportunity to purchase tickets to one of the most sought after venues on the NASCAR circuit, the March 22, 2009 Food City 500. As the official soft drink of Bristol Motor Speedway, Pepsi is also co-sponsoring the promotion.

“Our area has some of the most loyal fans in all of motorsports and many of them are also loyal Food City customers. Over the years, they have expressed interest in purchasing tickets or becoming season ticket holders. We felt they deserved an opportunity to experience such an exciting event right here in their own region and we’ve been working with Bristol Motor Speedway to make that possible,” said Steven. C. Smith, Food City president and chief executive officer. “For the first time ever, Bristol Motor Speedway is allocating tickets, along with some of our own to make them available to our loyal Food City shoppers for purchase. It’s our way of saying thank you for the generous support and loyalty they have shown throughout the years.”

The caravan will remain at each scheduled Food City location for a four hour period, from 3:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m. The fun-filled events will also feature exciting prize giveaways, including tickets to the Nationwide Scotts Turf Builder 300 on March 21, 2009, Pole Day tickets on March 20, hats, t-shirts, two $50 Food City Gift Cards and a chance to win a special grand-prize racing package.

Speedway president and general manager Jeff Byrd looks forward to hitting the road. “Food City has been a trusted partner of ours for nearly 15 years – the second-longest Cup race sponsorship in NASCAR,” said Byrd. “The chance for our employees to spend a few days at some of their stores saying thank you is exciting. Many loyal Food City customers are race fans and BMS tickets holders as well. Many others would like to be and now have that chance.”

2009 Food City 500 Fan Appreciation Tour Dates/Locations:

Date Store Location
Wednesday, January 7 699 Piney Flats, TN
Thursday, January 8 816 Bristol, VA
Friday, January 9 606 Greeneville, TN
Saturday, January 10 655 Knoxville, TN (Strawberry Plains)
Sunday, January 11 601 Johnson City, TN
Monday, January 12 677 Sevierville, TN
Thursday, January 15 839 Vansant, VA
Saturday, January 17 614 Newport, TN
Saturday, January 17 458 Pikeville, KY
Sunday, January 18 827 Richland, VA
Monday, January 19 682 Knoxville, TN (Chapman Hwy)
Thursday, January 22 612 Rogersville, TN
Friday, January 23 681 Oak Ridge, TN
Saturday, January 24 428 Middlesboro, KY
Sunday, January 25 848 Marion, VA
Monday, January 26 651 Maryville, TN
Thursday, January 29 424 Paintsville, KY
Friday, January 30 630 Dandridge, TN
Saturday, January 31 897 St. Paul, VA
Sunday, February 1 685 Knoxville, TN (Fountain City)
Monday, February 2 650 Lenoir City
Thursday, February 5 670 Gray, TN
Friday, February 6 607 Morristown, TN
Saturday, February 7 653 Kingston, TN
Sunday, February 8 898 Wise, VA
Monday, February 9 675 Knoxville, TN (Peters Road)
Thursday, February 12 669 Blountville, TN
Friday, February 13 656 Crossville, TN
Saturday, February 14 605 Kingsport, TN


Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to webmaster@wvlt-tv.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus

WVLT VOLUNTEER TV

6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 37167094 - local8now.com/a?a=37167094