LMS -- Ross, Hair, & Bell go flag-to-flag on opening night of Summer Shootout

(LMS) -- CONCORD, N.C. (June 9, 2009) - Nearly 200 race cars filled the Lowe's Motor Speedway pit area on opening night of the 16th annual Summer Shootout Series Tuesday and Steven Ross, Clay Hair and Evan Bell were on the money as Dollar General presented round one of the 10-week series.

Ross, of Stanfield, N.C., captured his second career victory in the Bath Fitter Legends Car Pro division, leading the 13-lap feature flag-to-flag.

Veteran Tolliver Smith challenged for the lead on Lap 6, but crossed the finish line in second place while Austin Hill rounded out the top-three in the premier division for Legends Car drivers. The race was shortened to 13 laps due to time constraints.

Hair, of Mt. Pleasant, N.C., got a good start for the defense of his
2008 title by leading every lap of the Legends Car Masters division feature.

Hair held off John Sossoman through a number of restarts and a final two-lap dash to claim the win in the division for drivers ages 40 and over.

Sossoman settled for second while Jan Ingram finished third in a caution-filled race.

Bell, of Buford, Ga., also dominated his feature, leading every lap en route to the checkered flag in the Bandolero Young Gun/Outlaw division.

Austin Langenstein, of Concord, N.C., finished second in the Bandolero division for drivers ages 12 and up while Justin Carroll took third place money.

Other feature winners were Kyle Weatherman, of Wentzville, Mo., in the Bandolero Bandits division; Jeffrey Bolen, of Lexington, S.C., in the Briggs Collision Legends Car Semi-Pro division; and Evan Swilling, of Cohutta, Ga., in the Legends Car Young Lions division.

In school bus racing action, Kyle Edmiston's Gamecock machine held off the Hillbilly Deluxe and Intern Headquarters behemoths in a thrilling
three-wide finish.

The 16th annual Summer Shootout continues Tuesday night, June 16. In addition to the regular racing divisions, Lowe's Motor Speedway's crazy CRASHCars make their first of four Summer Shootout appearances. Gates open at 5 p.m. with feature racing at 7:30.

The results:
Bath Fitter Legends Car Pro Feature (13 laps): 1. StevenRoss; 2.
Daniel Hemric; 3. Austin Hill; 4. Brandon Thomson; 5. John Freeman; 6.
Andrew Smith; 7. Justin Loyd; 8. Matthew Stover; 9. Jimmy Heavlow; 10. Will Prance; 11. Ronnie Bassett; 12. Zac Kittle; 13. Justin Swilling; 14. Jesse Bunnell; 15. Dustin Ash; 16. Bayley Currey; 17. Michael Van Wingerden; 18.
Brecken Snow; 19. Derek Forhilch; 20. Currie Pierce; 21. Trey Eidson; 22.

Scott Knox; 23. Tyler Green; 24. Chris Dilbeck; 25. Taylor Hull; 26. Steven Cantrell; 27. Samuel McAulay; 28. Kyle Grissom

Legends Car Masters Feature (9 laps): 1.Clay Hair; 2. John Sossoman; 3. Jan Ingram; 4. Eddie Harwell; 5. Larry Friddle; 6. David Denham; 7. Bobby Pence; 8. Phil Sharpe; 9. Dennis White; 10. Chip Ferguson; 11. Carlos Moore; 12. Charles Kiser; 13. Jackie Ryan; 14. Hoyt Demis; 15. Bruce Silver; 16.
Brad Green; 17. Clayton Austin; 18. Gary Shannon; 19. Glen Aikenhead; 20.
Todd Adams; 21. Jamie Smith; 22. Kevin Aube; 23. John Davis; 24. Todd Johnson; 25. Jimmy Gurley; 26. Tom Van Wingerden.

Briggs Collison Legends Car Semi-Pro Feature (15 laps): 1. Jeff Bolen; 2. Brandon McKenzie; 3. Dennis Kiser; 4. Kenzie Ruston; 5. Andrew Carlsen; 6. Zach Weaver; 7. Kyle Pierce; 8. Jerry Lambert; 9. Hunter Bledsoe; 10. Zack Zearfoss; 11. Duke Furr; 12. Gregory Lang; 13. Bailey Freeman; 14. Kodi Sunley; 15. Houston McCoy; 16. Robert Kuczmarski; 17.
Brett Coon; 18. Tyler Kivett.

Legends Car Young Lions Feature (8 laps): 1. Evan Swilling; 2.
Travis Braden; 3. Scott Hensley; 4. Harrison Rhodes; 5. Dusty Summers; 6.
Timmy Hill; 7. Cody Humphreys; 8. Cory Gordon; 9. Tyler Lester; 10. Cody Blackburn; 11. Austin McDaniel; 12. Chad Finchum; 13. Hayden Reeves; 14.

Kyle Plott; 15. Justin Thomas; 16. William Allen; 17. Jesse Little; 18.
Jordan Stillwell; 19. Tyler Mullins; 20. Blake Jones; 21. Dale Dodge Jr.; 22. Jake Morris; 23. Josh Morris; 24. Bryan Kolb; 25. Landon Bullock; 26.
Sean Shalvoy; 27. Dillon Bassett; 28. Justin Grimes.

Bandolero Bandits Feature (11 laps): 1. Kyle Weatherman; 2. Clayton Weatherman; 3. Ray Beebe; 4. John Holleman; 5. Dalton Sargeant; 6. Gray Gaulding; 7. Kason Plott; 8. Carson Ferguson; 9. Grayson Massey; 10. Kodie Conner; 11. A.J. Davis; 12. T.J. Michael; 13. Cole Timm; 14. Jordan Plummer; 15. Garrett Biggers; 16. Jeffrey Stanton; 17. Trevor Collins; 18. Tyler Dayton; 19. Teigan Deluca; 20. Brandon Bassett; 21. Daniel Bedford; 22.
Jordan Mander; 23. Jon Meeks; 24. Pierson Taylor; 25. Austin Green; 26.Brady Ward; 27. Logan Sargeant; 28. Rachel Marks.

Bandolero Young Gun/Outlaw Feature (13 laps): 1. Evan Bell; 2.
Austin Langenstein; 3. Justin Carroll; 4. Tyler Hill; 5. Luke Demis; 6.
Annabeth Barnes; 7. Spencer Boyd; 8. Heather Lynn; 9. Scott Beaver; 10. Reid Wilson; 11. Dillon Spain; 12. Brandon DeBrakeleer; 13. Ryan Mackintosh; 14.
Chris Morgan; 15. Mitchel Kendrick; 16. Joshua Plummer; 17. Kayla Marshall; 18. Craig Biryla; 19. Austin McKee; 20. Ben Klatt; 21. Myatt Snider; 22.

Matthew Linker; 23. Zachary Dunn; 24. Dillon Latour; 25. Coty Hartson; 26.
Andrew Brown; 27. Justin Thomas.

Join the Conversation!

While WVLT allows comments on articles, we ask that you respect the online community. Comments may be removed at any time for violations including:

  • Obscenity, profanity, vulgarity, racism, violent descriptions, name-calling or personal attacks.
  • Abuse of multiple accounts.
  • Off-topic comments.

Comments may be checked for inappropriate content or rule violation, but the station is under no legal obligation to monitor or remove comments. If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator. 
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 47537932 - local8now.com/a?a=47537932
Gray Television, Inc.