Radio Hall of Fame inducts initial class

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- The newly formed Tennessee Radio Hall of Fame's first inductions include names that are nationally recognized along with announcers who are longtime local voices.

The class being inducted Saturday in Murfreesboro includes Wink Martindale, whose radio career began in his native Jackson and went on to TV game shows.

Sportscasters Larry Munson, John Ward and Lindsey Nelson; engineers Jack DeWitt and Bill Barry; country radio personalities Ralph Emery and Gerry House; Grand Ole Opry stalwart Grant Turner; and rock radio personality Scott Shannon are also in the inaugural class.

So is Luther Massingill, known to generations of Chattanooga listeners as simply "Luther."

Late-night rhythm and blues personalities William T. "Hoss" Allen and John "John R." Richbourg round out the list.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 150210215 -
Gray Television, Inc.