Disaster food aid offered for tornado victims

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (WVLT) -- The Tennessee Department of Human Services will begin helping those in ten counties hit by tornadoes earlier this month by issuing disaster D-SNAP food stamps.

Beginning Thursday, residents of Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson McMinn, Monroe, Overton and Polk will be able to able for the D-SNAP benefits.

People must apply in at a DHS office, and locations are listed below. The offices will be open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The benefits will only apply to people in those counties who sustained tornado loss or damage.

The deadline for applying is April 5th.

Here are the locations of DHS office in the counties effected:

Bradley County

950 Star Vue Drive, S.W., Suite 1
Cleveland, TN 37311-5700

Hamilton County

311 E. Martin Luther King Blvd, Suite 301
Chattanooga, TN 37403-4126

Polk County

240 Cherokee Circle
Benton, TN 37307-3913

Monroe County

123 Pedigo Road
Madisonville, TN 37354-4426

McMinn County

1008 Knight Road, Suite B
Athens, TN 37303-4634

Cumberland County

32 Daniel Drive
Crossville, TN 38555-4028

Overton County

411 West Main Street
Livingston, TN 38570-1831

Claiborne County

310 Court Street
Tazewell, TN 37879-3031

Jackson County

307 S. Murray Street
Gainesboro, TN 38562-9370

DeKalb County

715 Walker Drive
Smithville, TN 37166-2028

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 144599565 - local8now.com/a?a=144599565
Gray Television, Inc.