FILE - This undated file photo released by the Orange County Sheriff's Office in Orlando, Fla., shows Caylee Marie Anthony. Texas state Sen. Chris Harris says he will introduce a new law to make it a felony for a parent or guardian to not report a missing child. The Arlington Republican will name the law after Caylee Anthony, the daughter of Casey Anthony. The Florida mother did not report her daughter missing for more than a month. She later said her daughter died accidently. Casey Anthony was found innocent this week of murder charges. (AP Photo/Orange County Sheriff's Office, File)
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) -- Florida Gov. Rick Scott has signed a bill inspired by 2-year-old Caylee Anthony's death.
The law increases the maximum penalty from a year in jail to five years in prison for knowingly making a false statement to police about a missing child.
Caylee's mother, Casey Anthony, was acquitted last year of murdering her daughter but convicted on four counts of lying to investigators.
Caylee wasn't reported missing until 31 days after she vanished in 2008 in Orlando.
Casey Anthony completed her four-year maximum sentence while awaiting trial on the murder charge.
She could have gotten up to 20 years in prison if the bill had been in effect at that time.