10 Tenn. counties to get federal aid after floods

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- The White House has approved federal aid for 10 Tennessee counties that had damage from flash flooding last month.

The disaster declaration announced Wednesday affects Clay, Cocke, Hardin, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Smith and Wayne counties.

Officials say areas in the counties received an average of six to seven inches of rain during Aug. 17-21, with some areas getting more than 11 inches. The most severe damage was to roads and bridges.

The assistance will provide reimbursements to local governments for repairing and rebuilding public infrastructure.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 102997119 - local8now.com/a?a=102997119
Gray Television, Inc.