25 counties now qualify for fed disaster aid

For more information on Fema assistance (Click here)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Gov. Bill Haslam has announced that the federal government will provide individual assistance in two counties and public assistance to local governments in 25 counties under the current disaster declaration for severe weather April 25 to 28.

Individuals in Knox and Montgomery counties are now eligible for federal assistance.

FEMA has approved seven counties in East Tennessee and 18 counties in Middle Tennessee for federal reimbursement in all categories of FEMA's public assistance program.

The East Tennessee counties include Blount, Campbell, Knox, Loudon, Polk, Scott and Sullivan.

The Middle Tennessee counties include Fentress, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Montgomery, Moore, Perry, Pickett, Sequatchie, Smith and Wayne.

To register for assistance, call 800-621-FEMA (3362).

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Join the Conversation!

While WVLT allows comments on articles, we ask that you respect the online community. Comments may be removed at any time for violations including:

  • Obscenity, profanity, vulgarity, racism, violent descriptions, name-calling or personal attacks.
  • Abuse of multiple accounts.
  • Off-topic comments.

Comments may be checked for inappropriate content or rule violation, but the station is under no legal obligation to monitor or remove comments. If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator. 
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

  • by Steve Location: Smyth Co Virginia on Jun 3, 2011 at 06:36 PM
    I'm very happy for those Tenn counties that qualified for aid. They deserve and need it. But what about Virginia? The Fed. gov didn't give us a fair shake. I agree, Tenn got hit much harder overall. But the people effected in Virginia are hurting just as badly.


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2015 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 123127578 - local8now.com/a?a=123127578
Gray Television, Inc.