ASCAP honors Alan Jackson, Reba McEntire at awards show

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Alan Jackson won songwriter/artist of the year honors for his hits "A Woman's Love" and "Small Town Southern Man" during the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers country awards Monday.

Other big winners were Dave Berg, songwriter of the year for "Don't Make Me" (Blake Shelton), "It's Good To Be Us" (Bucky Covington), "Moments" (Emerson Drive), "These Are My People" (Rodney Atkins); "What Kinda Gone" (Chris Cagle); and Rachel Thibodeau, country song of the year for "Good Directions" (Billy Currington).

Reba McEntire won ASCAP's Golden Note Award, which is presented to songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones.

The awards were presented in Nashville.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 30930809 -
Gray Television, Inc.