Bredesen requests disaster relief for 28 counties

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Gov. Phil Bredesen is requesting additional federal disaster assistance for farmers in 28 Tennessee counties as a result of drought and excessive heat during the growing season.

The counties are Bedford, Bradley, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Dyer, Fayette, Hamilton, Henry, Hickman, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lewis, Marion, Marshall, Moore, Perry, Polk, Rhea, Rutherford, Sequatchie, Sevier, Sullivan, Tipton, Unicoi, Union, Washington and Williamson.

Farmers in these counties have reported crop losses ranging from 30 to 50 percent, and higher in some cases. Livestock producers have also reported feeding winter stocks of hay earlier than normal due to poor pasture conditions.

Bredesen's request follows a similar one earlier this year for 14 counties, all of which were approved for federal aid.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111028849 -
Gray Television, Inc.