Chattanooga voters choose Berke for mayor

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. (AP) -- Chattanooga voters have given Andy Berke a big victory in the mayor's race.

With 100 percent of the vote in, the Chattanooga Times Free Press showed unofficial results for Berke with 12,906 votes, or 72.2 percent, in the nonpartisan race. Guy Satterfield received 4,224 votes.

The city was also electing council members in nine districts.

Chris Anderson defeated incumbent Manny Rico in District 7, and Jack Benson and Larry Grohn will compete in a runoff for District 4. Ken Smith defeated incumbent Pam Ladd in District 3.

Jerry Mitchell won District 2, and Moses Freeman defeated incumbent Andrae McGary in District 8.

Chip Henderson won in District 1. Former councilman Yusuf Hakeem and incumbent Peter Murphy appeared headed for a runoff in District 9.

Incumbents Russell Gilbert Sr. and Carol Berz faced no opposition in their re-election bids.

Join the Conversation!

While WVLT allows comments on articles, we ask that you respect the online community. Comments may be removed at any time for violations including:

  • Obscenity, profanity, vulgarity, racism, violent descriptions, name-calling or personal attacks.
  • Abuse of multiple accounts.
  • Off-topic comments.

Comments may be checked for inappropriate content or rule violation, but the station is under no legal obligation to monitor or remove comments. If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator. 
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 195521111 -
Gray Television, Inc.