Former lawmakers seek to regain Statehouse seats

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- At least four former state lawmakers are trying to regain their seats in the Legislature, while eight Democratic incumbents will be vying for four seats following this year's redistricting process.

The candidate filing deadline passed at Noon CDT on Thursday.

Democratic Rep. Gary Moore of Nashville announced on the House floor that he won't seek re-election. He becomes the 11th Democrat to announce they won't return next year.

Former Democratic Reps. Mark Maddox of Dresden and Jim Hackworth of Oak Ridge are seeking to regain the seats they lost to Republicans in 2010. Also looking to return are Republican Susan Lynn of Mt. Juliet, who gave up her House seat for an unsuccessful Senate bid, and Mike Williams of Maynardville, who lost his Senate re-election bid in 2008.

Join the Conversation!

While WVLT allows comments on articles, we ask that you respect the online community. Comments may be removed at any time for violations including:

  • Obscenity, profanity, vulgarity, racism, violent descriptions, name-calling or personal attacks.
  • Abuse of multiple accounts.
  • Off-topic comments.

Comments may be checked for inappropriate content or rule violation, but the station is under no legal obligation to monitor or remove comments. If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator. 
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 146323985 -
Gray Television, Inc.