Former lawmakers seek to regain Statehouse seats

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- At least four former state lawmakers are trying to regain their seats in the Legislature, while eight Democratic incumbents will be vying for four seats following this year's redistricting process.

The candidate filing deadline passed at Noon CDT on Thursday.

Democratic Rep. Gary Moore of Nashville announced on the House floor that he won't seek re-election. He becomes the 11th Democrat to announce they won't return next year.

Former Democratic Reps. Mark Maddox of Dresden and Jim Hackworth of Oak Ridge are seeking to regain the seats they lost to Republicans in 2010. Also looking to return are Republican Susan Lynn of Mt. Juliet, who gave up her House seat for an unsuccessful Senate bid, and Mike Williams of Maynardville, who lost his Senate re-election bid in 2008.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 146323985 -
Gray Television, Inc.