Obama declares emergency in 3 states over flooding, including TN

WASHINGTON (AP) -- The president has declared an emergency for parts of Tennessee, Mississippi and Kentucky because of flooding.

The White House says the order signed on Wednesday means the Federal Emergency Management Agency and other departments can help the states coordinate all disaster relief efforts in parts of all three states.

Over the past two weeks, heavy rains and tornadoes have hit many areas, causing rising waters, infrastructure damage and dangerous roads.

In Tennessee, the declaration covers Dyer, Lake, Shelby, and Stewart counties.

In Mississippi, the counties of Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Issaquena, Jefferson, Tunica, Warren, Washington, and Wilkinson are covered. Several Kentucky counties are eligible and most are along or near the Ohio River.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 121308579 - local8now.com/a?a=121308579
Gray Television, Inc.