Storm victims get extension from IRS

(Courtesy: Josh Wilson, Tellico Plains)

(Courtesy: Josh Wilson, Tellico Plains)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Victims of severe weather in 10 Tennessee counties have until May 31 instead of April 17 to file their tax returns with the Internal Revenue Service.

According to an IRS news release, taxpayers in the counties also have until May 31 to file for an extension of the deadline and to make a contribution to an IRA for 2011.

The counties are Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson, McMinn, Monroe, Overton, and Polk.

The IRS also said affected taxpayers may be able to claim a casualty loss for property damage from the storms. The claim can be done on their 2011 or 2012 returns.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 143778576