UT-Martin forms public education partnership

MARTIN, Tenn. (AP) -- The University of Tennessee at Martin has formed a partnership designed to improve public education in West Tennessee.

The Northwest Tennessee Rural Education Collaborative is open for the counties of Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Henry, Lake, Obion and Weakley. Twenty-three school directors from the nine counties have signed the memorandum. The UT Martin College of Education, Health and Behavioral Sciences will be an ex-officio member.

According to a news release from the university, members will work together to advance education in their respective school districts by collaborating on projects of mutual interest.

The partnership has completed its first project by submitting a validation grant proposal. If funded, the grant would help districts find ways to increase ACT scores.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to webmaster@wvlt-tv.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161430555 - local8now.com/a?a=161430555
Gray Television, Inc.