Pearl, Prince win SEC awards; Lofton, T. Smith First-Team All-SEC

KNOXVILLE, Tenn (WVLT) -- The University of Tennessee's first-ever #1 ranking for men's basketball, and first outright SEC title since 1967 was enough to earn Coach Bruce Pearl "Coach of the Year" honors in the SEC, or at least a share of it.

Kentucky's Billy Gillispie shared the honor for Kentucky's second place finish in the SEC East Division and a first-round bye at the SEC Tournament after starting the season 6-7, including a painful loss to Gardner-Webb.

Vanderbilt senior guard/forward Shan Foster was selected SEC Player of the Year by the league's coaches.

Tennessee's J.P. Prince earned SEC's "Sixth Man of the Year" honors.
He's averaging 8.6 points and 3.4 rebounds per game.

UT's Chris Lofton and Tyler Smith earned 1st Team All-SEC Honors. JaJuan Smith earned 2nd team All-SEC, and SEC All-Defensive Team honors.

The Vols next play in the 2nd round of the SEC tournament on Friday at 1 pm. You can watch the game here on Volunteer TV.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus