LSU's Fowles named AP SEC Player of the Year

March 18, 2008

The 2008 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference women's basketball team released Tuesday, with name, school, position, height and class (u-unanimous choice to first team):

Player Team Pos. Ht. Cl.
u-Candace Parker Tennessee F-C 6-4 Jr.
u-Sylvia Fowles LSU C 6-6 Sr.
Quianna Chaney LSU G 5-11 Sr.
DeWanna Bonner Auburn G 6-4 Jr.
Tasha Humphrey Georgia F 6-3 Sr.

Marshae Dotson Florida F 5-11 Jr.
Alexis Hornbuckle Tennessee G 5-11 Sr.
Christina Wirth Vanderbilt G-F 6-1 Jr.
Erica White LSU G 5-3 Sr.
Shannon Bobbitt Tennessee G 5-2 Sr.
Demetress Adams South Carolina F 6-4 Jr.
Ashley Houts Georgia G 5-6 So.
Shawn Goff Ole Miss C 6-3 Jr.

HONORABLE MENTION Sarah Elliott, Kentucky, C, 6-6, Sr.; Reneisha Hobbs, Auburn, G, 5-10, So.; Samantha Mahoney. Kentucky, G, 5-10, Sr.; Jennifer Risper, Vanderbilt, G, 5-9, Jr.; Brittney Vaughn, Arkansas, G, 5-7, Sr.


COACH OF THE YEAR - Van Chancellor, LSU

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 16796816 -
Gray Television, Inc.