Giants win World Series

ARLINGTON, Texas (AP) -- The San Francisco Giants are World Series champions for the first time since 1954 when the franchise was known as the New York Giants.

Edgar Renteria's three-run home run and Tim Lincecum's (LIHN'-sih-kuhmz) stellar pitching gave the Giants the title after San Francisco closed out Texas 3-1 to win the series in five games. Lincecum shut down the Giants on three hits, striking out 10 in his eight innings. The only Texas run came on a home run by Nelson Cruz in the seventh.

Lincecum outdueled Texas ace Cliff Lee for the second time in the series. It was a scoreless pitcher's duel for six innings before Renteria connected in the top of the seventh. Lincecum and closer Brian Wilson made it hold up to give San Francisco its first World Series crown since the Giants moved there in 1958.

Pitching is the reason San Francisco won. The Rangers, one of baseball's highest-scoring teams in the regular season, managed just five runs over the final four games.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus