Hopson earns coaches' first-team All-SEC honors

The Southeastern Conference unveiled its seventh annual men’s basketball coaches’ preseason All-SEC teams Wednesday, and Tennessee junior Scotty Hopson earned first-team honors.

Earlier this month, Hopson earned second-team inclusion on the media’s preseason All-SEC Team.

A native of Hopkinsville, Ky., Hopson is Tennessee’s top returning scorer (12.2 ppg) and also is the top returning Vol in terms of total 3-pointers made, steals and minutes played from a season ago. A career .344 shooter from 3-point range, Hopson is majoring in Communication studies and is coming off an active summer during which he attended the NCAA Career in Sports Forum, the LeBron James Skills Academy and also competed with the USA Basketball Men’s Select Team.

The coaches’ preseason All-SEC teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the 12 SEC head coaches. No ties were broken, and no predicted order of finish was made.

Dee Bost, Mississippi State
JaMychal Green, Alabama
Scotty Hopson, Tennessee
Travis Leslie, Georgia
Chandler Parsons, Florida
Marshawn Powell, Arkansas
Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt
Trey Thompkins, Georgia
Chris Warren, Ole Miss

Kenny Boynton, Florida
John Jenkins, Vanderbilt
Rotnei Clark, Arkansas
Raven Johnson, Mississippi State
Brandon Knight, Kentucky
Darius Miller, Kentucky
Alex Tyus, Florida
Erving Walker, Florida

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus