Olympians to compete at UT's Aquatic Center this week

(UNDATED) -- Olympic gold medalists Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.) and Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md.) are expected to highlight USA Swimming’s 2013 AT&T Winter National Championships, which runs Dec. 5-7 in Knoxville, Tenn.

The short-course yards meet will take place at the University of Tennessee’s Allan Jones Aquatic Center and will feature many top American swimmers, including 16 members of the U.S. 2013 FINA World Championships Team.

Fellow Olympic gold medalists Natalie Coughlin (Vallejo, Calif.), Nathan Adrian (Bremerton, Wash.), Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill.) and Cullen Jones (Irvington, N.J.) are expected to join Franklin and Ledecky in the field.

Other top swimmers slated to compete include Olympic medalists Rachel Bootsma (Eden Prairie, Minn.) and Caitlin Leverenz (Tucson, Ariz.), as well as 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships medalists Chloe Sutton (Mission Viejo, Calif.), Simone Manuel (Sugar Land, Texas) and Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J.). As of Tuesday, nearly 40 U.S. National Team members are expected to swim at the three-day meet.

Knoxville-area swimmers set to compete include Olympic gold medalist Claire Donahue (Lenoir City, Tenn.); National Team member Molly Hannis (Santa Rosa, Calif.), one of many University of Tennessee athletes slated to swim; and Tennessee Aquatics’ Bryar Long (Knoxville, Tenn.) and Brad Craig (Midland, Mich.), also a National Teamer.

A strong field of international competitors also will be in attendance, including Olympians Yulduz Kuchkarova of Uzbekistan, Russia’s Arkady Vyatchanin, Great Britain’s Adam Brown and South Africa’s Darian Townsend, among others.

Preliminaries will start at 9 a.m. ET Thursday, Dec. 5 through Saturday, Dec. 7 with finals beginning at 5 p.m. ET. Tickets may be purchased at the door.

A live webcast of prelims and finals will be available for all three days via usaswimming.org. National television coverage from the meet will air on NBC on Saturday, Dec. 21 from 5-6 p.m. ET.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus