Steven Fox Wins the 2014 SunTrust State Open Championship

Nashville, Tenn.--(WVLT Submitted) Steven Fox Wins the 2014 SunTrust State Open Championship
Fresh off of his 2013 Tennessee State Amateur Championship Steven Fox won his first professional event in his home state of Tennessee with a final round 5-under par 66 to capture the 2014 SunTrust State Open Championship hosted by Belle Meade Country Club in Nashville. The 2012 U.S. Amateur Champion from Hendersonville started the day four shots behind 2013 Runner-Up Jason Millard. Fox got off to a hot start with a birdie at the par-5 first hole and followed it up with birdies at holes three and six to shoot a front side 3-under par 32. Two more birdies on the back made for a clean scorecard and a 70-73-66-209 finish.
Brandon Rodgers (University of Tennessee Alumnus) was the Runner-Up at 3-under par 210 and the Low Amateur. Jason Millard finished T3 at 2-under par 211 while 2013 Champion Garrett Willis finished T6 at even-par 213.

For Complete Scores and Statistics visit

State Open History
The first Tennessee State Open Championship was played in 1949. Pat Abbott of Memphis won with a score of 211 at Belle Meade Country Club in Nashville. Mason Rudolph is the leader with a total of six State Open Championships. Gibby Gilbert holds the record for the most consecutive championships, 3, from 1988, 1989, and 1990.

Tennessee Golf Association History
The SunTrust State Open Championship is one of eighteen(18) state championships that the Tennessee Golf Association conducts annually. In 1914, the TGA was organized at Memphis Country Club as an association of private clubs. The objective of the Association, as stated in its Constitution, “shall be to promote the game of golf in Tennessee.” From these small origins, the TGA has become an association which now includes over 200 member clubs, courses and organizations, comprised of over 32,000 individuals from across the state. For more information on the TGA, visit us online at
Steven Fox, Hendersonville, Tenn. - 70-73-66--209
Brandon Rodgers, Knoxville, Tenn. - 71-69-70--210
Loren Personett Jr, Mt Juliet, Tenn. - 73-69-69--211
Jason Millard, Murfreesboro, Tenn. - 72-67-72--211
Grant Hirschman, Collierville, Tenn. - 72-69-70--211
Johan Kok, Brentwood, Tenn. - 72-70-71--213
Garrett Willis, Loudon, Tenn. - 70-70-73--213
Dawson Armstrong, Brentwood, Tenn. - 73-73-68--214
Marshall Talkington, Jackson, Tenn. - 75-71-69--215
Carlson Cox IV, Church Hill, Tenn. - 75-70-70--215
Davis Shore, Knoxville, Tenn. - 70-70-75--215
Nolan Ray, Brentwood, Tenn. - 74-72-70--216
Walt Chapman, Knoxville, Tenn. - 74-69-73--216
Austin Kramer, Knoxville, Tenn. - 74-71-72--217
Joshua Bevell, Nashville, Tenn. - 70-77-70--217
Tim Jackson, Germantown, Tenn. - 77-68-72--217
Ben Wolcott, Burns, Tenn. - 73-72-72--217
Alex Cox, Old Hickory, Tenn. - 71-76-70--217
Brooks Thomas, Chattanooga, Tenn. - 72-72-73--217
John Burch III, Nashville, Tenn. - 80-71-66--217
Chase Harris, Jackson, Tenn. - 78-70-70--218
Philip Lee, Nashville, Tenn. - 73-75-70--218
Hunter Wolcott, Burns, Tenn. - 76-72-70--218
Jared Melson, Tullahoma, Tenn. - 76-73-69--218
Keoni Vidrine, Delano, Tenn. - 75-75-69--219
Lucas Armstrong, Church Hill, Tenn. - 71-73-75--219
Stoney Crouch, Mount juliet, Tenn. - 75-73-71--219
Jared Jones, Nashville, Tenn. - 75-72-72--219
Winston Margaritis, Collierville, Tenn. - 75-69-75--219
Scott Moran, Knoxville, Tenn. - 71-72-77--220
Brian Jorgenson, Brentwood, Tenn. - 73-70-77--220
Braxton Hunter, Knoxville, Tenn. - 73-73-74--220
Taylor Davis, Franklin, Tenn. - 79-71-70--220
Steve Lee, Gallatin , Tenn. - 74-76-70--220
Josh Nelms, Spring Hill, Tenn. - 76-73-72--221
Payne Denman, Riverwatch, Tenn. - 72-74-75--221
Nick Garretson, Franklin, Tenn. - 74-75-72--221
Jonathan Fly, Memphis, Tenn. - 71-74-77--222
Travis Rodgers, Knoxville, Tenn. - 78-71-73--222
Dustin Korte, Clarksville, Tenn. - 77-74-71--222
Trey Tarpley, Hendersonville, Tenn. - 78-73-72--223
Peyton Dix, Bartlett, Tenn. - 79-72-72--223
Evan Ball, Benton, Tenn. - 76-72-75--223
Joshua McWhorter, Deep Gap, N.C. - 74-73-76--223
Peyton Sliger, Maryville, Tenn. - 76-75-73--224
Dylan Healey, Franklin, Tenn. - 76-75-73--224
Brendon Caballero, Brentwood, Tenn. - 75-75-74--224
Chase Brannon, Nashville, Tenn. - 78-71-75—224
Todd Burgan, Powell, Tenn. - 77-72-75--224
Kelvin Burgin, Crossville, Tenn. - 78-71-75--224
Austin Swafford, Lebanon, Tenn. - 80-67-77--224
Mitchell Bennett, Arlington, Tenn. - 75-72-78--225
Lee Maxwell, Cookeville, Tenn. - 76-74-76--226
Bill Breen, Nashville, Tenn. - 78-72-76--226
Bryce Ledford, Chattanooga, Tenn. - 80-71-76--227
Goodman Rudolph, Cordova, Tenn. - 77-70-80--227
Grant Leaver, Centerville , Tenn. - 76-75-77--228
Kevin Watford, Franklin, Tenn. - 77-73-78--228
Derek Rende, Chattanooga, Tenn. - 73-73-82--228
Cody Godfrey, Charleston, Tenn. - 74-77-77--228

A 36 Hole Cut was made at 151

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 260471441 -
Gray Television, Inc.