Three Vols selected by coaches for All-SEC Team

KNOXVILLE, TN - JANUARY 19, 2013: forward Jarnell Stokes #5 of the Tennessee Volunteers during the game between the Mississippi State Bulldogs and the Tennessee Volunteers at Thompson-Boling Arena in Knoxville, TN. Photo By Matthew DeMaria/Tennessee Athletics

The Southeastern Conference unveiled its 10th annual men’s basketball coaches preseason All-SEC first and second teams Friday, and three Volunteers were among those honored.

Tennessee was the only school to place multiple players on the first team, as senior guard Jordan McRae and junior forward Jarnell Stokes were both tabbed for the eight-man squad.

Senior forward Jeronne Maymon earned second-team status.

Seven different schools are represented on the two teams. Kentucky had five selections, while Tennessee had three and Florida, LSU and Missouri each had two selections. In all, 37 different players received votes for the coaches’ teams.

The coaches’ preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC head coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.

When the league’s media announced its preseason All-SEC teams last month, McRae was a first-team selection, while Stokes and Maymon landed on the second team.

The Vols, under the direction of third-year head coach Cuonzo Martin, open the 2013-14 regular season Tuesday at Xavier. Tipoff is set for 9 p.m. ET, and the game will be televised nationally on FOX Sports 1.

For the most up-to-date information about the Tennessee basketball program, visit and follow @Vol_Hoops on Twitter and Instagram.

First-Team All-SEC
Trevor Releford – Alabama, G, 6-0, 190, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.
Patric Young – Florida, C, 6-9, 240, Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Julius Randle – Kentucky, F, 6-9, 250, Fr., Dallas, Texas
Johnny O’Bryant III – LSU, F, 6-9, 256 , Jr. , Cleveland, Miss.
Marshall Henderson – Ole Miss, G, 6-2, 177, Sr., Hurst, Texas
Jabari Brown – Missouri, G, 6-5, 214, Jr., Oakland, Calif.
Jordan McRae – Tennessee, G, 6-6, 185, Sr., Midway, Ga.
Jarnell Stokes – Tennessee, F, 6-8, 260, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.

Second-Team All-SEC
Scottie Wilbekin – Florida, G, 6-2, 176, Sr., Gainesville, Fla.
Willie Cauley-Stein – Kentucky, F, 7-0, 244, So., Olathe, Kan.
Andrew Harrison – Kentucky, G, 6-6, 215, Fr., Richmond, Texas
Alex Poythress – Kentucky, F, 6-8, 239, So., Clarksville, Tenn.
James Young – Kentucky, G, 6-6, 215, Fr., Rochester Hills, Mich.
Anthony Hickey – LSU, G, 5-11, 182, Jr., Hopkinsville, Ky.
Earnest Ross – Missouri, G, 6-5, 228, Sr., Cary, N.C.
Jeronne Maymon – Tennessee, F, 6-8, 260, Sr., Madison, Wis.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus