Warlick, Simmons named finalists for major WBCA awards

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee junior guard Meighan Simmons and head coach Holly Warlick have been named finalists for two major awards by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA).

The State Farm Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport, announced Wednesday the 12 finalists for the The State Farm Wade Trophy, and Simmons is among the 12 finalists.
Simmons, the 2012-13 SEC Co-Player of the Year, is averaging 17.3 points per game and has scored in double figures of in 30 outings this season. She was named to the AP and Coaches All-SEC First Team.

The honor is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA Division I women’s basketball player. Other finalists include California’s Layshia Clarenden, Delaware’s Elena Delle Donne, Notre Dame’s Skylar Diggins, Connecticut’s Stefanie Dolson, Baylor’s Brittney Griner, Penn State’s Maggie Lucas, Kentucky’s A’dia Mathies, Connecticut’s Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Stanford’s Chiney Ogwumike, Baylor’s Odyssey Sims and Maryland’s Alyssa Thomas.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 36th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball”, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from among these 12 finalists who also are named to the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Team when it is chosen in April. The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 6 p.m. ET Monday, April 8, in the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center’s New Orleans Theatre. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four.

The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association also announced Wednesday the eight 2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA NCAA Division I Regional Coaches of the Year, all of whom are finalists for the 2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year Award.

Holly Warlick, chosen SEC Coach of the Year by the Associated Press and league coaches, is one of the eight finalists and represents Region 3. In her first year at the helm of the Lady Vol program, Warlick led Tennessee to the SEC regular season title and a 14-2 record in conference action. She is only the second rookie coach in SEC women’s basketball history to win a league title in her first season.

The remaining seven finalists are Notre Dame’s Muffet McGraw, Maryland’s Brenda Frese, Toledo’s Tricia Cullop, Baylor’s Kim Mulkey, Penn State’s Coquese Washington, San Diego State’s Beth Burns and Stanford’s Tara VanDerveer.

The 2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year will be named during the third annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 8, in New Orleans. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Links require admin approval before posting.
Questions may be sent to webmaster@wvlt-tv.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 200343481 - local8now.com/a?a=200343481
Gray Television, Inc.