Several area players named Mr. Football

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. (WVLT) -- Several area players were named Mr. Football in the state of Tennessee this afternoon, including two future Vols.

Bearden running back Devrin Young won the Class AAA Back of the Year Award, while Catholic's Kyler Kerbyson won the Class AAA Lineman of the Year Award. Young and Kerbyson have committed to play for Tennessee next season.

Maryville's Zach Sharp was named the state's best kicker, while Alcoa's Darrell Warren and Grace Christian's Davis Frank picked up lineman of the year awards for their respective classification.

Greeneville quarterback Willie Carmichael was named Class AAA Back of the Year.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Join the Conversation!

While WVLT allows comments on articles, we ask that you respect the online community. Comments may be removed at any time for violations including:

  • Obscenity, profanity, vulgarity, racism, violent descriptions, name-calling or personal attacks.
  • Abuse of multiple accounts.
  • Off-topic comments.

Comments may be checked for inappropriate content or rule violation, but the station is under no legal obligation to monitor or remove comments. If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator. 
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

  • by buzzcut Location: Oak Ridge on Dec 2, 2010 at 07:30 PM
    lousy coverage- these young men should be interviewed in person and individually; they competed with students across the entire state winning because of scholastic and athletic abilities along with strong character.


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2015 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 110995599 -
Gray Television, Inc.