Rogers, Jackson named to All-SEC coaches' second team

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (school release) -- For the 19th-consecutive year, Tennessee is represented on the Coaches’ All-SEC second team, as senior defensive lineman Malik Jackson and sophomore wide receiver Da’Rick Rogers were named to the squad Tuesday.

The 18th time UT has had multiple players on the Coaches’ second team roster, the honors come a day after the duo was selected to The Associated Press All-SEC first team.

Jackson, also a 2010 AP All-SEC second team honoree, led the Vols in tackles for loss (11), sacks (2.5) and quarterback hurries (10). His 56 tackles were a career-high, ranked tied for third on the team and positioned him as one of just two defensive linemen to rank in the SEC’s top 50 in tackles per game with an average of 4.6 each outing, placing 50th.

The Northridge, Calif., native was one of seven Vols with multiple pass breakups (2), while also forcing a fumble. His 11 TFLs rank 12th in the SEC.

Rogers, UT’s first wide receiver selection to the Coaches’ second team since Donte’ Stallworth and Kelley Washington in 2001, leads the SEC with 67 receptions, 1,040 receiving yards and six 100-yard games, while his nine TDs rank second.

His performance placed him in the top 10 of Tennessee’s record book in all four categories. His 100-yard games were tied for the third-most in a season, while his receiving yards were fifth, his receptions were sixth and his touchdown figure ranked seventh.

The Calhoun, Ga., native became just the third wide receiver in Tennessee history to record multiple double-digit reception games in a single season, matching his career-high with 10 against Cincinnati and Vanderbilt.

Tennessee has now had 175 Vols named to the All-SEC second team (Associated Press and Coaches) for a total of 247 selections.

TE - Orson Charles, Georgia

OL - Barrett Jones, Alabama
Will Blackwell, LSU
Cordy Glenn, Georgia
Alex Hurst, LSU

C - William Vlachos, Alabama

WR - Jarius Wright, Arkansas
Rueben Randle, LSU

QB - Tyler Wilson, Arkansas

RB - Trent Richardson, Alabama
Michael Dyer, Auburn

AP - *Joe Adams, Arkansas
*Chris Rainey, Florida

DL - Melvin Ingram, South Carolina
Sam Montgomery, LSU
Corey Lemonier, Auburn
Jake Bequette, Arkansas

LB - Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
Courtney Upshaw, Alabama
Jarvis Jones, Georgia

DB - Mark Barron, Alabama
Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
Morris Claiborne, LSU
Bacarri Rambo, Georgia

PK - Caleb Sturgis, Florida

P - Steven Clark, Auburn

RS - Joe Adams, Arkansas

TE - Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn

OL - Chance Warmack, Alabama
Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina
Brandon Mosley, Auburn
*Alvin Bailey, Arkansas
*Larry Warford, Kentucky

C - Ben Jones, Georgia

WR - Da'Rick Rogers, Tennessee
Marquis Maze, Alabama

QB - Aaron Murray, Georgia

RB - Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt
* Spencer Ware, LSU
* Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina

AP - Onterio McCalebb, Auburn

DL - Tim Fugger, Vanderbilt
Josh Chapman, Alabama
Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State
* Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
* Malik Jackson, Tennessee

LB - Danny Trevathan, Kentucky
Chris Marve, Vanderbilt
*Ryan Baker, LSU
* Jerry Franklin, Arkansas

DB - Winston Guy, Kentucky
Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
Brandon Boykin, Georgia

PK - Drew Alleman, LSU

P - *Dylan Breeding, Arkansas
*Brad Wing, LSU

RS – Marquis Maze, Alabama

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 135115768 -
Gray Television, Inc.