Three Basketball Vols Named Preseason All-SEC

October 31, 2007

The Southeastern Conference unveiled its fourth annual men’s
basketball coaches preseason All-SEC first and second teams, Wednesday, to tip off another great season of SEC men’s basketball.

Arkansas led all schools with four selections. Alabama’s Richard Hendrix, LSU’s Tasmin Mitchell, Mississippi State’s Jamont Gordon, Tennessee’s Chris Lofton and Vanderbilt’s Shan Foster were unanimous first team selections.

The coaches preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC Head Men’s Basketball Coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.

A list of the 2008 SEC Men’s Basketball Coaches Preseason All-SEC team follows.


Richard Hendrix, Alabama
Patrick Beverley, Arkansas
Ramel Bradley, Kentucky
Tasmin Mitchell, LSU
Jamont Gordon, Miss. State
Charles Rhodes, Miss. State
Chris Lofton, Tennessee
Shan Foster, Vanderbilt


Alonzo Gee, Alabama
Steven Hill, Arkansas
Charles Thomas, Arkansas
Sonny Weems, Arkansas
Marreese Speights, Florida
Sundiata Gaines, Georgia
Joe Crawford, Kentucky
Dwayne Curtis, Ole Miss
JaJuan Smith, Tennessee
Tyler Smith, Tennessee

Story Courtesy: The SEC

Join the Conversation!

While WVLT allows comments on articles, we ask that you respect the online community. Comments may be removed at any time for violations including:

  • Obscenity, profanity, vulgarity, racism, violent descriptions, name-calling or personal attacks.
  • Abuse of multiple accounts.
  • Off-topic comments.

Comments may be checked for inappropriate content or rule violation, but the station is under no legal obligation to monitor or remove comments. If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator. 
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

powered by Disqus


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2014 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 10920566 -
Gray Television, Inc.