Another top honor for Tennessee's Candace Parker

Junior forward Candace Parker of the University of Tennessee and senior forward Lindsay Ippel of Millikin University head the 2007-08 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America® Women’s Basketball Teams, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Parker and Ippel have been named as the Academic All-America of the Year in the University and College Divisions, respectively.

A native of Naperville, Ill., Parker has emerged as one of the top players in the nation during her career, as she is among the finalists for the Naismith Award once again this season after leading the Lady Vols to their seventh NCAA national championship last April. Parker, who helped the United States qualify for the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China, is the latest member of the Tennessee women’s basketball program to be honored by the Academic All-America® program, as her head coach, Pat Summitt, was honored last summer as the recipient of CoSIDA’s prestigious Dick Enberg Award. A Sport Management major at Tennessee, Parker holds a 3.35 cumulative grade point average.

“This is such an honor,” Parker said. “An athletic career could end at a moment’s notice, but a solid education will last a lifetime. My parents always made sure that I understood the importance of academics and impressed upon me a work ethic that has helped me sustain a certain level in the classroom while managing the busy schedule of being a collegiate student-athlete.”

Joining Parker as first team Academic All-America selections in the University Division are Delaney Conway of Portland State University, Jackie McFarland of the University of Colorado, Laura Rudolphi of Indiana State University and Lindsay Whorton of Drake University.

Parker’s senior teammate, Nicky Anosike, earned second team Academic All-America honors along with Megan Frazee of Liberty University, Danielle Green of Oklahoma State University, Lauren Kohn of Ohio University and Crystal Langhorne of the University of Maryland. The third team Academic All-America squad is comprised of Chelsea Chowning of the University of Kentucky, Brittany Cook of Virginia Tech, Sarah-Jo Lawrence of George Washington University, Whitney Lewis of Wright State University, Katelyn Murray of St. Bonaventure University and Allie Quigley of DePaul University.

A native of Decatur, Ill., Ippel was the leading scorer in the nation in NCAA Division III play as a junior as part of a stellar career for the Big Blue, which she helped lead to an NCAA national title as a freshman. The holder of 17 school records, Ippel was a finalist for the Jostens Trophy last winter and was tabbed as the D3 News Pre-Season Player of the Year heading into the 2007-08 campaign. A Kodak Honorable Mention All-America performer as a junior, Ippel holds a 3.54 cumulative grade point average as a Nursing major at Millikin, which enters the post-season at 19-6 overall.

“I am both humbled and honored to receive this award because I know how many other deserving student-athletics there are,” Ippel said. Balancing Millikin’s rigorous nursing program with basketball has been tough at times, but my passion for both has made it worth the sacrifice. Being named the Academic All-America Player of the Year only reinforces that the long hours at the hospital and the late nights studying after practice have been worth it.”

Joining Ippel as first team Academic All-America selections in the College Division are Anna Atkinson of Wingate University, Emily Brister of West Texas A&M University, Rachel Folcik of Ferris State University, Allison Fowler of Union (Ky.) College and Tarra Richardson of McMurry University.

Second team Academic All-America honorees were Emilee Ackerman of Westminster (Pa.) College, Katie LaViolette of Concordia-St. Paul University, Megan Scheele of Edgewood College and Michelle Stueve of Emporia State University. The third team Academic All-America squad is comprised of DeCarol Davis of the United States Coast Guard Academy, Melanie Hageman of Concordia (Moorhead) University, Sheena Kuntzsch of Fort Hays State University, Lindsey Maple of Central Missouri State University and Justine Pagenhardt of Marietta College.

To be eligible, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director. Since the program’s inception in 1952, CoSIDA has bestowed Academic All-America honors on more than 14,000 student-athletes in Divisions I, II, III and NAIA covering all NCAA championship sports.

Story Courtesy: UT Lady Vols Sports Information

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Join the Conversation!

While WVLT allows comments on articles, we ask that you respect the online community. Comments may be removed at any time for violations including:

  • Obscenity, profanity, vulgarity, racism, violent descriptions, name-calling or personal attacks.
  • Abuse of multiple accounts.
  • Off-topic comments.

Comments may be checked for inappropriate content or rule violation, but the station is under no legal obligation to monitor or remove comments. If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator. 
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

  • by jakarra Location: orlando on Dec 2, 2008 at 12:45 PM
    i want to be just like you
  • by Tammy Location: conyers on Oct 8, 2008 at 05:55 PM
    she is the best of all time womans
  • by Tamara Location: conyers Ga on Oct 8, 2008 at 05:54 PM
    i am in (th grade and have trouble in math and trying to play basketball and it is hard how she do it
  • by Cheresa Location: Lukachukai, Az on Apr 18, 2008 at 12:03 PM
    Hey, the championship game was the baet once again! I enjoy watching Candace Parker play 4 The Sparks!!!!!!!


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2015 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 16005252 -
Gray Television, Inc.