Lady Vols host Miami to open season

September 2nd - The 2011-12 women's collegiate basketball season will be tipped off in style as the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame teams up with State Farm, Intersport and ESPN to host the 2011 State Farm Tip-Off Classic on November 15. This year's Tip-Off Classic will feature the University of Tennessee versus the University of Miami in Knoxville, TN (5 p.m., ESPN2).

The 2011 State Farm Tip-Off Classic marks the 19th anniversary of the event, which has become synonymous with the start of the collegiate women's basketball season. Once again, this year's match-up will feature some of the best players, coaches and programs in the country. Led by Hall of Fame coach Pat Summitt, Tennessee is looking to turn things around this year and make a run at the 2012 Final Four. Miami, a young team with all their players back from last year and the nation's #7 overall recruit, Suriya McGuire, are looking to make their mark. Miami's coach, Katie Meier lead the team to its first ever ACC Regular Season Championship earning a three seed in the 2010-11 NCAA tournament.

This year will mark Tennessee's eighth appearance in the State Farm Tip-Off Classic posting a 5-2 record in the Tip- Off Classic. It will be the first appearance for Miami in the State Farm Tip-Off Classic and their first ever meeting against Tennessee. This will be the fifth time Knoxville, TN has hosted the event. During this year's game, there will be three Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inductees sitting on the bench for Tennessee (Pat Summitt, Holly Warlick, and Daedra Charles-Furlow).

During halftime, the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2012 will be introduced to the arena and the national television audience. This year marks the 14th Induction, with the inaugural induction taking place in conjunction with the Hall of Fame's grand opening in 1999. When the Class of 2012 is officially inducted in Knoxville, Tenn. on June 9, the list of individuals who have been recognized as Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inductees will increase to 127. The Class of 2012 includes Nancy Fahey (Coach), Nikki McCray (Player), Pamela McGee (Player), Inge Nissen (Player), Robin Roberts (Contributor), and Dawn Staley (Player).

Visit for more information regarding the 2011 State Farm Tip-Off Classic and the 2012 Induction Ceremony.

Visit and for more information on our corporate partners.

The mission of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame is to "honor the past, celebrate the present, and promote the future" of women's basketball.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:


6450 Papermill Drive Knoxville, TN 37919 Phone - (865) 450-8888; Fax - (865) 450-8869
Copyright © 2016 WVLT-TV Inc. - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129128663 -
Gray Television, Inc.