Tips to Learn the 7 Forms of Lightsaber Combat

Star Wars A lightsaber is the traditional fighter for the Jedi and sith. This guide will show you how to use each of the seven types. Luke Skywalker was immediately fascinated by the lightsaber his father gave him when he first encountered it.

Not as clumsy or as random as the blaster. This was the beginning of Obi-Wan Kenobi’s lessons on lightsabers for Luke. Jedi Masters like Obi-Wan see lightsaber fighting as an art form and a symbol of Jedi tradition.

7 Forms of Lightsaber Combat


There are seven different styles of lightsaber battle in Star Wars. All Jedi appear to have been taught in forms I and III by the time of the prequels, however as Padawans undergo instruction, they are urged to try out several forms in order to determine which one best suits them.

Clearly, there is a style to these things; some are probably more suited to battle and are therefore more prevalent while the galaxy is at fight, whereas others can be defensive and are therefore more prevalent when there is peace. is able to produce stunning, high-quality, personalized sabres with a wealth of features by collaborating with the top suppliers and distributors both locally and globally.

Here’s everything you desire to know about the seven variations of the recognizable lightsaber from Star Wars.

1. Shii Cho


It is the most basic form and oldest of combat. It is the oldest known form of action. It’s almost the same technique as regular sword-fighting if you look at it that way. Because Shi-Cho was made at the time the swords were changing to lightsabers, it makes perfect sense.

The stance, attacks, parries, and maneuvers of lightsaber combat were all based on bladed sword fighting. This style is often called simple. This combat style is excellent for multiple opponents, as the swords are very wide-sweeping.

Kit Fisto is the most famous practitioner of the Shii Cho combat style. Obi Wan Kenobi is the second. Shii Cho is one of the oldest forms of lightsaber fight, and it was created in the early days.

2. Makashi


Form I needs to be revised. These weaknesses were considered when creating Form II, also known by Makashi. Form II techniques are eleganter. Makashi and his students engage in excellent swordplay that makes them formidable duelists.

Speed and precision are crucial elements of the move. They are very similar to actual fencing, where fighters retreat and advance in one line while keeping their lines. Makashi practitioners don’t rely on the blocks and slashes but use light buts with precise timing and parry to defend and attack.

This form is best for single or one-on-1 fights. However, it is not recommended for defense against large groups of blasters. Form II practitioner Count Dooku was the show’s star, and his quick and fluid swordplay proved its strengths.

Makashi (lightsaber form) was designed to defeat other lightsaber-wielding foes. It’s characterized by elegant, precise movements focused on dueling and defense. Makashi is most effective against opponents who rely heavily on lightsaber combat.

3. Soresu


Soresu was the ultimate defense. It was created in response to growing blaster use. Like Form II, Form 3 uses tight blade work. However, it breaks with the rigid backward-and-forth footwork to introduce dodge. Soresu involves moving the lightsaber and conserving energy.

Soresu Jedi training can fight against multiple or single enemies if the person remains calm. Form III has no offensive maneuvers. Instead, the goal is to overwhelm rather than outlast your opponent.

Soresu is a defensive form emphasizing fast, precise movements to avoid and counter enemy attacks. This defensive form was developed during the Clone Wars. Jedi were often outnumbered by their opponents and outgunned. The strength and endurance of Soresu users are what makes them so unique.

4. Ataru


Ataru, or Form IV, was created to react to Soresu’s defense-oriented approach and evolved into a form entirely different from Soresu’s, which focuses on attacking. It’s more aggressive and focuses on speed and agility. They also use fast, powerful strikes from multiple angles.

Force-assisted abilities are often used in Ataru forms, including somersaults and leaping strikes to attack and defend. Yoda and other more minor masters can use these Force-assisted skills against larger opponents.

5. Niman


Niman, also known as Niman’s Sixth Form, is called The Moderation or Diplomat’s Form. It is a conglomeration of the preceding Forms. Niman is a unique form of Niman that combines the tactics and sword work of the older forms. It blends these forms down to create a uniform style.

This form is better described as philosophical since Niman focuses more on the user’s mind than the weapon in hand. As a leaf in the wind, users can ride the Force. Practitioners are calm and collected and react only when needed.

Niman can be described as a balanced form incorporating elements of all other states. It emphasizes versatility as well as adaptability. This is why it is ideal for Jedi who likes to be ready for any situation.

Frequently Ask Questions

What Is Your Oldest Lightsaber Type?


Form I (also known as Shii-Cho and The Way of the Sarlacc) was the first of the seven states of lightsaber fighting. This combat form was developed in the transition period between ancient metal swords and more modern lightsaber within the Jedi Order.

What Is The Lightsaber V Called?

It was created by Form III Masters, who wanted an offensive style. Form III’s defensive nature led to long combat, potentially hazardous for its practitioners.

Who Was The 1st Starfleet Jedi?

Star Wars Legends continuity states that Jedi Masters Cala Brin Garon Jard Rajivari and Tears Senon founded the Jedi Order.

What Was Obi-Wan’s Preferred Form Of Communication?


Form III was the most skilled area of Form III. Kenobi continued his training throughout the Clone Wars.

What Saber Style Did Yoda Choose?

Yoda was thought to have mastery over Form IV using the Force. He used it in almost every battle, and others praised him for his knowledge of the style.


Star Wars fans across the globe love the lightsaber. It is a unique weapon of the Jedi as well as the Sith. The seven lightsaber combat forms allow Jedi to adapt to different combat situations. Each record has its strategy and techniques suitable for different kinds of action.

The seven forms of lightsaber combat provide various tactics and strategies for Jedi to adapt in different combat situations. Jedi can master these forms to be more ready to face any challenge and defend the galaxy against the forces of darkness.